Honouring our best citizens

Last year's Yarra Ranges Civic Award winners came from various parts across the shire, from all different roles and contributions. Picture: TYLER WRIGHT.

The Yarra Ranges is preparing to celebrate some of its highly credited citizens for their contributions to the community and environment with the Australia Day Civic Awards.

When nominations opened in October, then Mayor Jim Child said the annual awards were a great way of honouring and recognising the commitment of many people in the shire.

“We know that there are countless volunteers, community groups and community advocates who work every day to make this one of the best places in the world to live,” Cr Child said.

“These awards are a chance to give some of these wonderful, passionate people some well-deserved recognition – a reminder that we see their work and appreciate it deeply.”

Categories include Citizen of the Year, Young Citizen of the Year, Environmental Achiever of the Year and Mayor’s Lifetime Achievement Award.

The 2024 awardees will be honoured in a ceremony on Friday 26 January.

Last year, Lilydale’s Bec Rosel was named Citizen of the Year for her work on the Lilydale Street Fair and bringing people together post-pandemic.

Eleven-year-old Allora Cumming won the Young Environmental Achiever of the Year award for her dedication to protecting the environment and native wildlife in the Yarra Ranges.

The day will also be marked with the shire’s newest members gaining citizenship in what is normally an invitation-only ceremony.

People from across the country will also be named as part of the Australia Day Honours List, receiving an Order of Australia and awards for meritorious, distinguished and conspicuous service.

The Governor General said last year that these people “go above and beyond, are from all over the country, and contribute every day in every way imaginable”.

“These are the people who see us through good times and bad. They’re the first to show up and the last to leave.”

The names of honours’ recipients will be revealed on Friday 26 January.